Customer / Partner LoginLoginLOGIN
Design
Create fully automated data backups with ease
BackUp Maker
Free for personal and trial purposes
Buy
Professional Edition (39.90 USD)
BackUp Maker
Free for personal and trial purposes
Buy
Professional Edition (39.90 USD)



FAQ - frequently asked questions

Edition comparison, purchase, updates
Download, login
Run BackUp Maker as a Service
Write to CD/DVD
Back-up to Cloud Storage
Network drive not visible
Question: Mapped network drive not visible in BackUp Maker, why?
Answer: BackUp Maker runs with administrator privileges by default, while network drives are usually mapped as standard users and are therefore not visible to administrators.

Solution 1: Run BackUp Maker without administrator privileges

Exit BackUp Maker from the main menu "Program", "Close" and restart BackUp Maker via the desktop shortcut (without administrator rights).

In case that you always want to start BackUp Maker without administrator rights, also change the "BackUp_Maker-USERNAME" task in the Windows Task Scheduler:

1. Type "Task Scheduler" in the search box of the Windows taskbar and start Task Scheduler.

2. Click "Task Scheduler Library" and double-click the "BackUp Maker-USERNAME" task.

3. Uncheck the "Run with highest privileges" option and click "OK".


Solution 2: Enable SMB features and LinkedConnections

1. Type "Windows Features" in the search box of the Windows taskbar and click "Turn Windows features on or off".

2. Enable the "SMB Direct" and "SMB 1.0/CIFS File Sharing Support" options (any) and click OK.



3. Type "regedit" in the search box of the Windows taskbar and open the "Registry Editor".

4. Locate the registry subkey "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System" and verify that an "EnableLinkedConnections" entry of type REG_DWORD exists. If not, right-click in the right pane and create a new "DWORD Value (32-bit)" named "EnableLinkedConnections".

5. Double-click the "EnableLinkedConnections" value and enter "1" as a value. Confirm with "OK".



6. Restart your system afterwards.